As  the big ’50’ creeps nearer and that darn Menopause continues to ‘hang about’,s baby boomer woman  went looking for medical answers….sadly for me, the annoying symptoms that can fluctuate several times in one day, plus the frustration of the prognosis, all had me wondering where I could find support to assist with some of the symptoms-

For someone who had never managed to gain weight her entire life, [except during each pregnancy], the sudden weight-gain was the straw which broke the camel’s back and I knew I had to face this,head-on! About 2 weeks ago, I made the serious decision to start a diet….I knew if I shed some kilos then I’d also be shedding some of the unwanted effects of Menopause! Never having been on any kind of weight-loss programme, I began by checking-out the Tony Ferguson programme [Australian weight-loss]…..it consisted of various flavoured ‘shakes’ used as ‘meal-replacements’, but it was the cost which turned me away. The idea of ‘weighing-in’ each week was a great motivator, but the reality of being able to keep up with costs, sadly out-weighed[no pun intended lol] my decision and so I had to re-think my options.

Sure, there’s plenty of wight-loss products available on the market, but after a recent consumer survey, the list of the safest, significantly shrunk! Now what??? Well, the next best solution required much commitment and dedication on my part…I was going this alone! My mind did a complete ‘about-face’, choosing to take better care of my body by watching what I put into it, then giving it a complete workout! The most amazing thing has happened because of this…foods I once despised, I’m now loving!

An example is the habit I’d picked-up when hungry between meals…’grazing’, as it was described to me….now when I feel the urge for a snack, I reach for something healthy AND filling! Here’s a really simple snack-attack idea:

A tub of low-fat yogurt/Strawberries/Honey/Cinnamon/Mint leaves……..slice up the strawberries & put in a bowl…drop some low-fat yogurt on top, drizzle 1/2 teaspoon of honey over it followed by a sprinkle of cinnamon[about1/4 teaspoon], top this with some fresh mint leaves.

Exercise IS CRUCIAL!! If you HATE the “E” word, don’t panic, it can be as easy as taking the dog for a walk, or choosing to walk to the local shops opposed to driving….which today, also great for the planet! Like to dance?? Slap on aCD and get moving! I’ve been doing all of the latter as well as using dumbells for my arms…..but a great ‘fat-blaster’ is raising the levels of your heartbeat  which tells you those calories are burning off!! Melt the extra pounds/kilos away! And guess what???? It’s already working for me! Yes, my legs ache but I’ve found this just means you need to work through the pain. Your meals really don’t have to be boring just remember, everything in moderation and stay AWAY from the fatty-foods!

Take it from me, you could save yourself a small fortune and STILL get the results!

