Tags

, , , ,

Using a milk crate (we had to start small) to get started. Knew this would come in handy some day :)

Using a milk crate (we had to start small) to get started. Knew this would come in handy some day 🙂

With a week off work, I had so much time on my hands I was beginning to go a bit stir-crazy, until I was bitten by the ‘writing bug’. So here I am, blogging once more. jotting down new thoughts, re-posting some of the old…yet I still craved for more…enter my partner with a brilliant idea of his own.
Create a vegie garden! Yes! What with the cost of living going through the roof, it seemed a perfectly smart thing to do and so we set about writing down all the items that would be required to set this vegie patch in motion.
But which vegetable to grow? Hmmm, well, the most obvious selection was those we ate on a regular basis, and this would include salads.
Everything on a small scale to begin with, “We can always expand as we grow” I was often reminded by my gardening assistant!

So this is what we have started with:
Lebanese Cucumber, Sweet Mama Capsicums, Rouge de Marmande tomatoes, Golden Nigget Pumpkin, carrots & shallots.

Lebanese Cucumbers

Lebanese Cucumbers

Golden Nugget Pumpkin

Golden Nugget Pumpkin

Sweet Mama Capsicums

Sweet Mama Capsicums

Shallots

Shallots

Rouge De Marmande Tomato seeds

Rouge De Marmande Tomato seeds

I guess my biggest problem now is my lack of patience, and find I am constantly peering out my kitchen window hoping to see some new sprouts, almost willing them on!

We hope to get some potatoes going in the next few days but believe we are off to a good start.
I have even joined a couple of Gardening Clubs, but happily welcome ANY tips or advice from those much more experienced growers, so please feel free to jump in!

Thought I’d toss in some “updated” photo’s of my other garden while here 🙂
Photo1733Photo1732Photo1731Photo1730Photo1728Photo1664Photo1665

