Tags

, , , , , , ,

As the mystery of my great grandmother Jane Green continues, thought I’d share some “updates” of my search. Never knew putting together a family tree would be so much work, but have to admit am a bit of a “sleuth” and loving this adventure!
Guess the most exciting bit of detail to emerge is her exact wherabouts on the day of her arrest. (See the MAP)

I’ve also managed to track down the details from her day in Old Bailey Court, it goes as follows:
JANE GREEN, Theft >simple larceny, 17th October, 1833
JANE GREEN was indicted for stealing on the 18th of September, 1833, 1 watch, value 301 (currency “value”to be determined), the goods of Henry Goodwin.

MR. CLARKSON conducted the prosecution.

HENRY GOODWIN. I live at No 4, Cobur-terrace, Bow-road, I am a landing waiter in the Custom house. On the 18th of September, I had been dining with some friends, and drank rather too much wine-as I was going home I met a female at the top of Well Street; I was taken with a swimming in my head, and she said, “Will you walk in, sir,” which I was glad to do; I went in, and I must have taken my coat off, as some woman (but I cannot say who)helped me with it on again-I had only staid a few minutes in the house, but it was safe when I sat down to dinner at four o’clock-after I had got about a hundred yards from the house, my progress was impeded by a cart standing across the road; I dropped my handkerchief, and a woman said, “You have been robbed;” I thought it was of my handkerchief, but I felt, and my watch was gone-I begged the woman to get me an officer, who went back with me to the house I had just left-I saw a woman there, but not the prisoner, she said “I suppose I know what you come for, it is this watch, and I suppose if I give it you, it will be all right;” the officer took the watch; this is it-it is worth 301.

ELIZABETH BAKER. I am the wife of Michael Baker, we live in Mill-yard.
I know the prisoner-on the evening stated I left my house to carry some work home; I saw the cart standing in a yard which I have to pass through, and i saw the prosecutor there with the prisoner, he was very much intoxicated, and she had her right arm round his neck, and her hand in his pocket-a lady said, “That gentleman has been robbed;” the prosecutor then took hold of me, and said he would not let me go till he had procured a policeman; I saw the prisoner take something from the ground, and she ran very quickly away towards Mill-yard, where she lives-the prosecutor would not let me go till I took him to the station house where we got the officor-I went with him to Mill Yard, and showed him the house in which the prisoner lives-the prisoner was not at home, but the landlady produced the watch.

JOHN FARMER. About eight o’clock that evening, I was loading a cart near Mill-yard; I saw the prosecutor and the prisoner coming along; she had one arm on his shoulder, and her other hand neat his watch-fob-I saw her pull something out, and it fell on the ground, she picked it up and ran away.

GEORGE SEAMAN (police constable H150) I went to the house in Mill-yard, we knocked but there was no one there; we waited about five minutes, when the landlady came running up; the door of the house is in a nook next to a chapel, and she could not see us till she came to the door-she then asked me what I wanted, and on seeing the prosecutor, she said, “O, I know what he wants, he wants his watch-he left it on the bed, and i suppose if he gets his watch he will not proceed any further”-she produced the watch to me in the house, it has a bruise on the back of it, and it was all over mud.

Prisoner’s Defence. I found the gentleman on the ground; I took him up; he bade me, good bye, and gave me some money-I do not know any thing about the watch.

GUILTY Aged 19 (this is debatable as other records show her to have been only 17 at the time of her transportation to Australia)-transported for Seven Years.

Seems my search is now focused on the area of Mill Yard, London, United Kingdom, with my only clue the address at the  time of Jane’s arrest. The residence was situated (according to court details) “the door of the house is in a nook next to a chapel”…and if you google a map of this area, you could easily be bamboozled by the many churches listed. So, its a game of trial & error, sifting through the streets and roads, looking for a church that may be situated by a small “nook”.
The area mentioned in court shows me the vicinity in which Jane lived, along with that of the victim, Henry Goodwin. It’s all a process of elimination, which in itself has become quite time consuming! I am presently studying details of all churches in a radius from Bow Road to Mill Yard, and have turned up a few possibilities, so now await some feedback from the many emails sent out into cyberspace, and across the seas!
map of Mill Yard during 1833

The map below takes me deeper into the Mill Yard area, and am learning that this town has quite a seedy past….here is a snippet of what I have since dug up of the area:
THE EAST OF LONDON
No dweller at the West-end, says the Rev. G. W. M’Cree, the missionary of St. Giles’s, can have any conception of its crowded apartments, narrow alleys, swarming dogs and children; slaughterhouses reeking with blood; pawnbrokers’ shops filled to repletion with the pledges of the poor; factories, yards, and workshops, all noisy, ill-ventilated, and very dirty; crooked, unswept, and unsavoury lanes, where every woman seems consumptive, and every man half-starved; beershops, the haunts of thieves, and ginshops echoing with the gabble and blasphemies of heated, angry, wretched people; the famous ‘Highway’, with its sailors, crimps, hawkers, soldiers, pickpockets, watermen, negro melodists, butchers’ men, Lascars, dock labourers, flaunting women more cruel than tigers, policemen walking in pairs, ship-captains with gay girls hanging on their arms, touts from boarding-houses, grimy stokers, Irish emigrants, beggars, and pugilists—in brief, its noise, dirt, crime, want, disease, and misery.

Mill Yard Back Church Lane

