Thomas Cromwell is just one of the many characters that I have become quite fascinated with…love him or hate him, Thomas Cromwell (as far I am concerned) remained a loyal servant to King Henry VIII, but was sadly misunderstood and criticized for his own ideas and personal beliefs…this in turn led to his wrongful conviction. I’m sure many would argue this point but it is merely an opinion I have formed based solely on my interpretations of each documentary and story I have viewed/studied. The ‘Tudor’ era is one complete with conflicts and controversy love and great romance…often ending with great tragedies.

The Lost City of London

Anne of Cleves as portrayed by Holbein in 1539 Anne of Cleves as portrayed (perhaps flatteringly) by Holbein in 1539

Henry VIII as portrayed by Holbein in 1536 Henry VIII as portrayed by Holbein in 1536

July 28th –  On this day in 1540, Henry VIII’s Chief Minister Thomas Cromwell was beheaded at Tower Hill on trumped-up charges of treason and heresy, having eighteen days earlier been attainted, or  in other words essentially found guilty without trial.  He had finally fallen out of favour, and victim to the sort of court intrigue that to that date he had himself customarily been behind, over his ill-advised choice of Anne of Cleves as the new wife for the King.

The lawyer, politician and chronicler Edward Hall recorded Cromwell’s last words, as follows:

Thomas Cromwell, as portrayed by Holbein in c1533 Thomas Cromwell, as portrayed by Holbein in c1533

“I am come hether to dye, …  for …  I am by the Lawe comdempned to die, and thanke my lorde God that hath appoynted me this…

View original post 351 more words

